Status Update

Last night the WinkElf web server went down unexpectedly.

We  have since discovered that this is not just a temporary outage due to equipment malfunction, maintenance or server issues.    What we found out was that our hosting company has shut down and closed it’s doors without any notice to their customers… not even an email… and effectively shutting us down with them.

With our web host having closed their doors permanently and without notice, we are left without access to our files and our data – including our daily backups – making it impossible to simply move to a new server.  It is with great sadness that I have to announce the closure of WinkElf.

I have set up this temporary blog and an email address (winkelf@gmail.com) for those who may have any questions or wish to contact me.

I can not express my utter disbelief… No one is more angry or saddened than I.

It has been such a pleasure working with all the elves over the years, I will miss you all dearly.

~ Wink Elf

Note:  If you would like me to add a link where shoppers can find you, please leave me a note in the comments.


42 responses to “Status Update

  • Isabella Miles

    I just paid the annual fees for Designs By Isabella in JUNE and for 1 Vintage Lane not but 6 days ago, will there be any reimbursements?

    • winkelf

      Hi Isabella,

      Yes… We’ll be refunding the Annual Subscriptions as we locate the information. I’ve already refunded your payment from last week and am looking for the information for the other Annual Subscription. It’ll be forthcoming.

  • Isabella Miles

    Samantha,
    So sorry to hear of this. If you ever have another start up company please let me know.
    Isabella

    • winkelf

      Thanks sweetie.

      Too much hard word, sweat and tears down the drain to even think of starting anything where you have to depend on another company for service. Had they given me even an hours notice, the outcome would have been so different. 😦

  • Dena Kirchoff

    I’m really sad to hear this too I just signed up and was soo excited to find your site I loved it.
    Upon hearing this I had this brain storm to check cached pages of the sites via search engines. Sometimes you can get some access from that. I was able to see all but Isabella’s pictures interesting there would be some of the coding.
    Did they say they have no way to give you your backups at least? This is so sad. I to will gladly come where ever you are if you bring winkelf back. I understand loosing everything it’s happened to me with my domains before if you need support or help along the way with this feel free to message me too.

    • winkelf

      Thank you Dena…

      I’ve tried everything possible. My emails begging them to release my backups have bounced back and the telephone number that was listed on their site (also down) is a dead end too. I’ve since found out that there are several lawsuits against them.

  • Utterlyeclectic

    so sorry Sam. really, it was fun. thanks for all your help over the years i was with you! Jeanne

  • Utterlyeclectic

    just curious if that was related to the buy i had over the weekend not posting correctly, do you think? j

    • winkelf

      It may have… I’ve read where some of their other customers had outages over that same weekend. I didn’t notice any outages on our end but maybe things weren’t working 100% correctly on their end causing little bugs to occur.

  • Christie Gaskill

    OH NO! Was just going to check in to my shop! 😦 So sorry about this happening!! luvncrafts. winkelf

  • threecatsgraphicsandjewelry

    I’m so very sorry to hear this. I was excited about being part of Winkelf and my condolences over this loss go out to you wholeheartedly.

  • Christie Gaskill

    Really weird!! Winkelf is closed. YET, I JUST got a message in my inbox saying one of my items was re-lsited!! What is up with that?

    • winkelf

      I know… I got one too… imagine my surprise!

      I rushed to see if maybe the site was back (even temporarily) only to find nothing. I’m guessing their datacenter is still running even though they closed their doors and disabled all access.

      Makes me so mad knowing it’s there and I can’t do anything about it… like a hostage.

  • Sylvia Quandt

    I am so sorry. I am still getting the relist e-mails. Should I just ignore them? Do you know if they will go away soon?

    • winkelf

      Thank you Sylvia.

      Unfortunately the server is on their closed premises and seems to be still running. I’m trying to disconnect the domain from the server with the domain registrar so outgoing messages can relay anymore. Grrr… It’s like their teasing me.

      Please just ignore them.

  • Dena Kirchoff

    I would say ignore the relist things myself.
    Samantha. I hope that you too will file a suit with them.
    I am really rooting that you will be the victor in this all.
    I hate the idea of having to relist everything @ Etsy. LOL I guess it’s affected me more than I realized too I haven’t picked up a crochet hook in several day ha ha.
    Like I said though I’m here for ya.
    Hugs to everyone.

  • Patrice

    Wow, sorry Samantha! That sucks! I hope you get satisfaction one way or another, and are able to move on to future projects soon.

  • Bert

    I was one of the lucky ones with emc too … worked on a project for 2 1/2 years scheduled to go online last saturday …
    I am still in disbelieve!
    For what it’s worth, keep an eye on this blog entry, specifically the comments …

  • Elaina Erwin

    My customers can find me at my website at http://www.littleladybugjewelry.com

    Thanks,
    Elaina

  • Vickie Onderdonk (wikio)

    So sorry to hear this happened and so suddenly. I enjoyed being on your site and viewing everyones beautiful handmade items.
    Please note that I have items at http://www.wikio.artfire.com

    Best of luck to you!

  • Paper Lady

    Samantha I’ll miss you and thanks for the opportunity to get my feet wet with having a nice online store. At this time I don’t know where to go but think I need to rest anyway. If you have a couple references of sites that have your objectives and considerations, please provide info. I’ve heard too many bad things about Etsy to want to go there. Please contact me if you do it again. Happy Creating!

  • TORNnotions

    So sorry to hear about this site. I just became an “elf” a few weeks before the site went down. I really liked your unique approach for the craft industry. Best of luck to you!

  • ColorfulNotes

    Hi, love, love, lovedddd WinkElf. So sorry the site went down. Have opened my own temporary site, but had to go under another name. Would you please post the following under my winkelf name, colorfulnotes? Thanks. New site is http://www.MadeSpecialJustForYou.com Hope you can open a new site. If so, count me in.

  • Brick_House_Fabrics

    I am so sorry! I came to check in, and found this. What a mess for you. I really liked Winkelf, and thought your customer service was great… I will miss this site.

    I can be found at http://brickhousefabrics.com/

  • Bobbi

    What a shame!!! I’m new to the whole scene, but loved your site. Please let me know if you come up with something new. Best wishes!

  • Christie Gaskill

    Thank you for posting our shop links to the right up there under Thems-Elves 🙂 I have had several people click that link into my artfire shop! REALLY appreciate that!!

  • Kathleen Summers

    *!@*&##! This is indeed a tragedy. Y’all have worked so hard and had a wonderful site. I would appreciate a link to my Artfire site. In spite of it all, I wish you all a lovely holiday, joy and happiness always. ~~Kathy

  • Shutterbug's Sanctuary

    This is such a shame. I too went to log in and check on things and found this instead. I really loved Winkelf – definitely the best out there for sites of it’s kind. I will miss it. I have a few things available on Lulu, I would appreciate your linking to it. It’s a nice thing for you do link our other sites for us. http://stores.lulu.com/shutterbugssanctuary

    I know that Lydia Marie Soaps also has her things for sale on http://www.lydiamarie.com

  • Lee

    Samantha, my partner and I over at zaybia.com would like to let you know that we are sorry to hear about what happened. We always thought you had a great service and some very inspiring ideas. We know how much hard work goes into such a project and it is very encouraging to see what a great community of talented people you were able to bring together.
    Good luck with everything in the future and keep fighting!

  • Crystal

    Samantha,
    I had never heard of your site, but was looking at my online venue options for my shop and found a link to your site in an article. When I clicked the link I was taken to this page. And while I am very sorry to hear this news, I hop that this inspires you on many levels. Though the loss is great, it is an opportunity to start anew, a second chance to change things for the new site. Don’t give up. Companies all across the world and throughout history have taken hits that decimated their companies to almost nothing… yet they recovered. You are ahead of the game since you have many people who want to sign up. But most importantly, you had a vision. And you manifested that vision with WinkElf. Many people don’t get that far with their dreams. And to be quite frank, from the comparisons I’ve done, your site was the best offer I found. You have something great to offer the handmade community and if you decide to begin again, please email me. I would love to come check the site out.
    Crystal

  • Teresa A Rusk

    Hi Sam,
    Although I closed my WE shop awhile back, I was shocked to hear that the whole thing was gone! I still enjoyed shopping there and had contemplated opening a new shop. I wish you all the best in whatever you decide to do next.
    Teresa♥

  • Ashley

    I have recently made a blog entry with a lists of sites that people can try selling at now that Winkelf is no more.

  • Jen

    Sorry to hear that this happened. It was a good run. You can find me on Etsy or directly through my website http://www.jenshouseofchai.com

    ~D}
    Namaste

  • Norma

    Wow.. I was just gonna check my shop over there. it’s been forever. sorry this happened.

  • Arlene Hall

    Samantha, Please remove my link, as I had to temporarily shut down because of illness. I will send you the new link when I reopen in the fall. Thanks. Arlene

  • Rebel Jewel

    This is so sad to here, I was just coming to join 😦

  • Mary

    That is a shocker and sad, sad news. I was just going to check on my listings since I haven’t heard anything about any sales. Let me know if you ever decide to start something new. Thank you for the opportunity to have had a shop here at WinkElf.

  • Sarah

    I am very sorry this happened. I hope you start anew somewhere else! Also, can you add my link so shoppers can find my cake stands? http://www.sarahsstands.com. Thank you and wish you all the best!

  • VIPbeads

    Very sad situation,I really feel for U and think that nobody is protected from “surprises” like that,unfortunately.At least U could be warned somehow before the action was taken.I’m sure U will find another host or server and will be much more successful against all the odds.GOOD luck!!!!!
    http://www.vipbeads.com/

Leave a comment